Trondenesveien 122,N-9404 HarstadTelefon: (+47) 77 01 83 80E-post: firstname.lastname@example.org
STMU / Ditt besøk / English
Sør-Troms Museum extends a warm welcome to our guests visiting Trondenes Historical Centre, Trastad Samlinger, S/S «Anna Rogde» and our Regional Museum, all offering a rich and varied historical and cultural experience. Sør-Troms Museum offers 20 attractions within the municipalities of Salangen, Lavangen, Tjeldsund, Ibestad, Kvæfjord and Harstad. Our exhibitions cover the Viking and Middle Ages, the industrial revolution, the everyday history of farming and fishing, World War II & post-war history and Outsider Art. A visit to two or more of our attractions provides the perfect context for a pleasant day trip throughout the region.
Have a historical day!
“Anna Rogde” from 1868 the world’s oldest schooner. She is Norway’s fifth tallest sailship and the only one to hail from Northern Norway. Anna Rogde is a unique maritime cultural treasure and protected by the National Directorate for Cultural Heritage. On board you can experience history, sailing, visit hidden beaches or simply enjoy food and drinks in maritime settings.
Booking / more info: email@example.com
The farm museum with its six buildings and over 4000 objects, is one of the best preserved of its kind in Northern Norway. The main building dates from 1770, with an extension wing dating from 1824. It was land-marked already in 1942. The museum opened in the 1960s displaying furniture, musical instruments, farm tools and other objects of use from the last century.
Booking / more info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Helleren electricity museum is an important example of industrial history. It was commissioned in 1958. But the machinery, turbine and generator date from 1905-1907 and are unique in Norway. It is a low-pressure station and the dimensions are enormous. Next to the old plant one finds today’s facilities. The contrast between these two illustrate the rapid technological development over the last 100 years.
Booking / more info:Open in ordinary working hours by prior email@example.com
The trading post at Hemmestad was licensed by the King in 1798 but had already been a long-established hub for trade. From here transport vessels sailed to Bergen several times a year. The old pier house is intact with boutique, trading post and post office. The museum tells about coastal history and trade as well as the role of women in the old fisher-farmer society.
Kjøtta pier house was built around 1880 by shipowner Isak Rogde when he started his business on the island. The building was constructed with material transported by schooner “Anna Rogde”. Fish was salted on the ground floor, while workers had their bedrooms on the floor above. The top floor served as a storage area.
The pier house is currently not open to the public.
The main building “Sverrebrygga” is a pier house with café, an old shop, a shoemaker’s workshop, and a large and varied exhibition of utensils. You also find a storage for fishing yarn, “Arthurbrygga“, where we show maritime objects, and not least the charming “Jennystua“ a furnished cottage from 1896. On the site there are also a boathouse and forge.
Booking / more info: firstname.lastname@example.org
In the early 1960s, local initiators established Kvæfjord museum yard with historical buildings at the Rå river. The Refsnes school room is intact with old desks, books, fireplace and other utensils and seems to be ready for pupils. The Rasch granary has been moved here from Vebostad and includes gallery corridors and a loft. Here are also two countryside mills with timber walls and peat roofs. The millstones are ready for use.
More info / Booking:email@example.com
Sjøvegan has a long tradition in trading. Johan Falk Henriksen came here in 1864 and started his business with shop, ware-house, guest house, bakery and forge. Sjøvegan became a natural meeting point between coastal and inland culture in Salangen county. Lundbrygga was erected in the inter-war period and houses today a maritime collection, thematic exhibitions, and museum shop.
Meløyvær Fort, built in the 1980s, is set in a beautiful island location. It is the world’s most modern coastal fort and a monument from the Cold War. The canons are built under ground into 30 meter-deep facilities, which are equipped to be self-sufficient with water and electricity in a crisis. Both the command stands and cannon number 1 are open to the public on request.
As a typical Northern Norwegian building from around 1870, the cottage gives a good idea of how we lived right up to the 1960s. Up to 9 people lived in this small house. The largest and finest room was only used during Christmas holidays. Ottesastua stands at the top of a large farming site from the Viking age, where the legendary Viking chieftain Tore Hund may have had his home.
In the 18th and 19th century, people from southern Norway moved to inner Troms. The Salangen museum farmstead illustrates a cultural blend between South, North and Sami. It consists of seven buildings, all of which were moved here from their original environment, a farmhouse, barn, storage buildings, stable, forge and mill. The farmhouse “Limostua” was built in 1870 and three of the other buildings are of Sami origin.
The establishment of the Salangen factory was based on the discovery of iron ore at Storhaugen. Extraction and production of iron briquettes began in 1910 after only three years of construction. More than 600 people were working here. The vicinity grew into a centre with housing, cafes, hairdresser and shops. Already in 1912, the mine and factory closed.
Today, the area is an open-air museum where you can be fascinated by imposing ruins witnessing an extraordinary industrial achievement.
The museum with its six buildings and several artefacts, tells about the everyday life of the North Norwegian fisher farmer. The main house “Ursinstua” dates from around 1789 and the ochre coloured “Sheriff’s arrest“ dates from 1820. In addition, you find two so-called “low barns”, a stable and a forge on site of the idyllic yard.
The skipper’s home has a characteristic u-shape, built in several stages over a long period of time. Originally it was built around 1760 for Jekte-skipper Søren M. Hass. In the middle of the 19th century, it was the sheriff’s home and from 1907 to 2000 a boarding school for students from the age of 14 till 20. On view are cultural-historical objects from the last hundred years and a display describing the school’s history.
The herring oil factory from 1922 was small but with state-of-the-art technical solutions for its times, driven by a steam engine of 17hp. Skjærstad is the only fully preserved herring oil factory in Norway from this period. Designed by engineer Agnar Kaarbø, it was only operative for six years and is now a monument of national technical-industrial heritage.
Southern Steinsland is a traditional cluster farmstead for collective use of land and facilities. Around 1850, most clusters were divided into single properties, making Steinsland farmstead a unique site. In “Aronstua” you will experience an authentic atmosphere from the 1920s. There is also a furnished as a shop and a barn with an exhibition about renowned author Regine Normann who briefly lived here.
Pavilion 7 at former Trastad Gård/Northern Norway’s home for intellectually disabled residents is an authentic living and nursing home from 1966. Here you find a cultural history museum, Outsider Art Gallery and museum shop. The collections contain rich material from the institutional period, as well as an impressive collection of Norwegian and international Outsider Art.
Opening hours:Winter 2021/22: by prior arrangementTickets:Adults: 80,-/55,-. Children freeBooking / more info: firstname.lastname@example.org
Experience 1000 years of Harstad region’s history through a comprehensive exhibition that ranges from the Stone Age to the 1950s with a focus on the Vikings, the Middle Ages and the 2nd World War. Outside, you find the Trondenes medieval farm where you are introduced to daily life arogund the year 1200, with its buildings, acre and livestock.
Opening hours:Winter 2021/22: Tue-Fri: 11:00 – 15:00. Sat-Sun: 11:00-16:00Summer 2022: Daily at 11:00-16:00Tickets:Winter 2021/22: 110,- /55,-Summer 2022: 140,-/70,-Booking / more info: email@example.com
© STMU 2022 - All rights reserved
Design og utvikling av ANEW